Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeSportPH national volleyball teams to be called Alas Pilipinas

PH national volleyball teams to be called Alas Pilipinas

Alas Pilipinas Philippine national volleyball team

Philippine national volleyball team members during a press conference. According to the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF), the country’s national volleyball teams will now go by the monicker Alas Pilipinas. LANCE AGCAOILI/

MANILA, Philippines — Call the Philippine volleyball teams, Alas Pilipinas from now on.

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) and main sponsor Cignal unveiled the men’s and women’s squads’ new monicker on Wednesday at TV5 Media Center.

As the Filipino spikers begin their road to the country’s hosting of the 2024 FIVB Men’s World Championship,  Bryan Bagunas and Marck Espejo, who are champion players overseas, will banner the training pool in the upcoming international tournaments.

READ: Angel Canino, Bella Belen commit to play for PH team 

Joining star outside hitters are Jau Umandal, Mark Calado, Louie Ramirez, Nico Almendras, Jade Disquitado, Noel Kampton, and reigning UAAP MVP Josh Ybañez.

Sherwin Umandal, the younger brother of Jau, and Leo Ordiales are the opposite spikers of the pool, while the middle blockers are Kim Malabunga, JP Bugaon, Lloyd Josafat, Choi Diao, and Peng Taguibolos.

Owa Retamar will be making his national team comeback with setters Joseph Bello and Adrian Villados, while liberos Vince Lorenzo and Menard Guerrero will be taking care of the nationals’ floor.

The men’s team will compete in the upcoming AVC Challenge Cup from June 2 to 9 in Bahrain.

READ: De Brito bares wishlist of players for AVC Challenge Cup

Meanwhile, college stars will banner the women’s campaign in the AVC Challenge Cup from May 22 to 29 at Rizal Memorial Stadium.

The last two UAAP MVPs Bella Belen and Angel Canino will team up for the first time alongside Alyssa Solomon, La Salle’s Thea Gagate and Julia Coronel, and University of the East super rookie Casiey Dongallo.

Denso Airybees and Creamline setter Jia De Guzman and Choco Mucho’s Sisi Rondina and Cherry Nunag are also part of the roster which also includes PVL stars Eya Laure and Jennifer Nierva of Chery Tiggo, Cignal’s Vanie Gandler and Dawn Macandili-Catindig, PLDT’s Dell Palomata, and Akari’s Faith Nisperos and Fifi Sharma.

The Philippines is in Pool A with Chinese Taipei, India, Iran, and Australia.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.

The Nationals placed seventh when De Brito and the core of the Akari Chargers competed last year in Indonesia.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Translate »